Laver Close, Nottingham, Nottinghamshire NG5 7LS

01159 560990

Coppice Farm Primary School

Welcome to Our School!

School Governors

Chair of Governors: Mrs Paula Bird 

The Governing Body is made up of the following members:

Parent Governors – elected by the parents (5)  ( 1 vacancy)

Community Governors – nominated and accepted by the Governing Body (3)

LEA Governors – nominated by the Local Authority (3)

Staff Governors – elected by the staff  (2)  (3 vacancies)

Staff, Head Teacher – by dint of office (1)


All Governors are automatically members of the Governing Body which meets three times each year.  The meetings are usually held in October, Autumn Term; March, Spring Term and  June, Summer Term; and Annual General Meeting; November, Winter Term; March, Spring Term.  They start at 6pm and take between one and two hours, depending on the amount of discussion on the agenda items.

Attendance at Governing Body meetings is the minimum requirement.  However, most Governors are on one of the following Committees:


Finance and Personnel- Chair: Mrs Kathryn Cooper

The  members of the Committee meet four times a year.  Meetings start at 6pm and take between one and two hours.

The functions delegated to the Committees are on the Decision Planner at Appendix B.


Children and Curriculum- Chair: Mr Mark Hopkins

Again the  members of this Committee meet for an hour or two, four times a year.

The school governors would like to hear from any member of the Coppice Farm School community to assist the leadership of the school and ensure the learning experience for our young children is the best it can be.


Achievement and Challenge Committee- Chair : Paula Bird

The members of this committee meet three times a year to focus on school data and outcomes for pupils.


Governor information and attendance 2020-2021

Current governor information and attendance 2021-2022



Chair of Governors

Mrs P Bird

 Vice Chair

Mr Gavin Aspley

Co-opted Governors

Mr Mark Hopkins

Mrs Kathryn Cooper

Parent Governors

Mr Gavin Aspley

Mr Ed Mobbs

Mrs Rachel Oakes

Local Authority Governor

Mrs Liz Terzza


Staff Governor

Mrs Donna Quarless-McGee

Head Teacher

Mr J Brewster


School Governor Resources

  Governors use the modern governor section to update their training and learning needs. The school purchases this package of support as it is a valuable tool for professional development.